The generation of my kids

When I was growing up I never thought that things would change so much. I also never thought I would be worrying about Disney and what they teach kids or kids cartoons. My oldest loves all things Disney from Mickey Mouse to all the princesses. She has told me numerous times her favorite is Snow White which now its all Moana all the time. So when I saw a Beauty and The Beast movie coming out I got excited because it was supposed to be something we could share but Disney then decided to shock me and remind me that this isn’t my generation. Growing up for me was a lot safer and we didn’t have to worry about Disney warping our minds or shaping our ideals on certain topics that are too big for us. I get that Disney wants to make a stand for the LGBT community and that’s fine and all but not with my three year old who just got potty trained. Disney has pushed the envelope too far this time. I get sad to think that I have to shelter my kids from movies that have ideas that just came out in adult shows and movies in the last 4 or 5 years. I really think that Disney should rethink about the age of people who they reach because not everyone is older and it’s that way because well the kids who started out watching Cinderella and The Lion King are now having kids of our own and we want our kids to be just that. I want my kids to grow accordingly not too fast because this time is precious and I only get it once. So I for once will not be supporting Disney because I think they have finally over stepped between the lines of making movies and teaching my kids things that I don’t want them to know just yet. I know this is a very ranty post and is nothing like my usual blog posts but I had to get it out before it festered in my brain anymore.

Leave a Reply

